lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KOTOR Windowed mode issue - Crash to Desktop
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-29-2012, 12:45 PM   #1
chumprock
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
KOTOR Windowed mode issue - Crash to Desktop

Hello,

I've been tearing my hair out over the past few hours trying to figure this out, but still no solution.

The boring stuff:
Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic for PC (Hard copy with discs)
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium OEM
AMD Bulldozer 8 core
Asus Radeon HD7850
8GB RAM

The issue I'm having is that when I'm attempting to play the game in windowed mode it is either crashing to the desktop (leaving the game open on the taskbar, but unable to maximize or close window, only solution to end the process) OR it will load up normally and upon hitting ALT + ENTER the game will also close to desktop, sometimes able to maximize again, other times just crashing and needing to end the process

I understand to run Knights of the Old Republic in windowed mode you need to edit the .ini file so that "Fullscreen=0" and add "AllowWindowedMode=1" or other variations of the same process. I have tried one, the other and both methods combined with the same results and have only found one other person with the same issue on gameFAQ's but they had not replied to the thread so no idea whether they solved it or not.

Please note that the game works perfectly in fullscreen mode, i just require it to run in a window for streaming purposes.

Any help will be appreciated.
chumprock is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2012, 06:08 PM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Did you install the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2012, 07:14 PM   #3
chumprock
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
Did you install the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread?
Thanks for your response. Yes I have, it was the first thing i did after finding this forum.
chumprock is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2012, 08:43 PM   #4
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Try using the game's configuration utility to post your system specs:
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs View Post
Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
  • If you're using Vista or Windows 7, go into your game folder, find "launcher.exe" and "swconfig.exe". For each file, right-click on it, select "properties", then "compatibility", check the box beside "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" and select "Windows XP (Service Pack 2)". Then check the box next to "Run this program administrator" and hit "OK". (EDIT by Q)
  • Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2 (by running "launcher.exe").
  • Click on "Configure".
  • Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
  • Click "Yes" to continue.
  • Click "Details" to view your system specs.
  • Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
  • Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.
You can leave out the keymapping and everything after that.

Also, what size window are you trying to use?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > KOTOR Windowed mode issue - Crash to Desktop

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.