lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KOTOR 2 Randomly Freezes on Windows 7
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-27-2012, 03:14 PM   #1
Khabra47
Lurker
 
Khabra47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Exclamation KOTOR 2 Randomly Freezes on Windows 7

KOTOR 2 randomly freezes after about 10-20 mins. of playing.
Please help me solve this problem, I really want to play this game!!!

Thanks in advance


Here are my system specs:


[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=27/12/2012 6:59:17 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.00.424
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2700
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=7
CPUStepping=10
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5400 @ 2.70GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1024
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=221.11GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,F:\,H:\
Drives=

[Video]
Video Card Name=RDPDD Chained DD
Video Memory=2048
Desktop Resolution=0x0x0
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.2
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=GeForce 7100 / nForce 630i/PCI/SSE2
NVidia Driver=(null)
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Fail
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Number 3D Voices=32
Number 2D Voices=32
2D3D Bias=1.00
Force Software=0
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0

[Graphics Options]
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=0

[Game Options]
TooltipDelay Sec=1

[config]
firstrun=0

Last edited by Khabra47; 12-27-2012 at 10:25 PM.
Khabra47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2012, 05:33 PM   #2
scramjetbooster
Rookie
 
scramjetbooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tropical island paradise, yay!
Posts: 77
You might want to post your system specs so we can help you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs View Post
Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
  • If you're using Vista or Windows 7, go into your game folder, find "launcher.exe" and "swconfig.exe". For each file, right-click on it, select "properties", then "compatibility", check the box beside "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" and select "Windows XP (Service Pack 2)". Then check the box next to "Run this program administrator" and hit "OK". (EDIT by Q)
  • Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2 (by running "launcher.exe").
  • Click on "Configure".
  • Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
  • Click "Yes" to continue.
  • Click "Details" to view your system specs.
  • Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
  • Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.


scramjetbooster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2013, 02:10 PM   #3
Rocks In My Dryer
Lurker
 
Rocks In My Dryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canadia
Posts: 7
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
I've been having the same thing happen (I'm running Windows 7 though). I found out that every time it freezes (mid-dialogue, mid-combat, even mid-load), I can wait for about 1 or 2 minutes and it suddenly starts up again. Have you tried just leaving it when it freezes, without pressing a key or clicking the mouse? I found it happens every hour or two, so it's worth the minute of downtime. Might be worth a shot...

If it does work, my only other piece of advice is to have two saves and alternate between them every time you save (or backup your autosave every half hour or so) because if it locks up mid-save, it doesn't continue loading and also deletes that particular save file.
Rocks In My Dryer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > KOTOR 2 Randomly Freezes on Windows 7

Tags
crash, freeze, jedi, knights, problem, republic, sith, star, trouble, wars

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:28 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.