lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: New graphics card help
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-10-2013, 12:50 PM   #1
L0ki194
Rookie
 
L0ki194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
Current Game: Modding K1/TSL, Playing my 360
New graphics card help

Hi. I'm lookiing for a new graphics card for my computer but I have no idea what's best for my computer. I want to be able to play KOTOR and TSL with being able to have working alpha channels and shaders.
Examples:



And now my compter:

Windows 7 Home Premium
English/French
Intel Core i3-540 Processor, 3.06GHz
500GB hard drive
6GB DDR3 SDRAM
Gigabit LAN
Super-Multi drive
Intel HD graphics solution
multi-in-one card reader
Variety of interface ports: including HDMI, ten (four front, six rear) USB 2.0, two USB 3.0, headphone/microphone, RJ-45, three audio, VGA and two PS/2
Dimension: 10.57" H x 3.94" W x 14.48" D Weight: 12 lbs

Can anybody help with this? I just want a cheap graphics card that fixes these problems I have.


My Mods:
L0ki194's Sith Officer Armors: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...fficer-armors/
K1 Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
Realistic Nar Shaddaa Skybox Mod Loadscreens: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...d-loadscreens/
L0ki194 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2013, 12:48 AM   #2
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,625
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
If you want a system that will run KOTOR well, you'd be better off finding an old XP system someone is offloading for next to nothing (or better yet, for free). Any new card worth having isn't really optimised for crusty decade-old OGL console ports.

That being said, you have a few options, although "cheap" is an extremely vague term. You might want to specify a budget. I would say an nVidia 560 Ti is about as entry level as you'd want to bother with. Anything less and you may as well stick with your integrated graphics, especially given how anaemic your CPU is (that will be a bottleneck in any modern game). Looking at the Newegg site, they would appear to be around the $200 mark, slightly less for ones with a mail-in rebate. Someone else may be able to offer their 2 on ATI/AMD alternatives, if you go in for that sort of thing.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2013, 08:14 AM   #3
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
^ROFLCopter. OP's CPU is more than adequate for either KotOR game, as long as it's set to run on a single core.

@OP: Since ATI GPUs are notoriously glitchy with these games, I recommend an Nvidia GT 430 or better. You can find one for ~$30 after rebate if you're in the US.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2013, 10:34 AM   #4
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,625
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I said modern games in relation to the CPU. I was not talking about either KOTOR game (which I thought would be apparent by the modern qualifier).
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2013, 11:39 AM   #5
L0ki194
Rookie
 
L0ki194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
Current Game: Modding K1/TSL, Playing my 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
^ROFLCopter. OP's CPU is more than adequate for either KotOR game, as long as it's set to run on a single core.

@OP: Since ATI GPUs are notoriously glitchy with these games, I recommend an Nvidia GT 430 or better. You can find one for ~$30 after rebate if you're in the US.
Well, I don't live in the US. But I took at look at the GT 430. Reasonable prices. And I watched a video of somebody play BF3 with it. It was laggy at first but he's recording it so that would lag it a bit, and textures didn't load until like 3-5 seconds. But anyways, I'm fine with something like that. And I don't wanna start a fight on "Which option is the best option". Just something where I can still keep this computer, but get an actual graphics card for it. KOTOR and TSL run fine, but I want to play them and see everything they way it's supposed to.
But if I'm getting a new graphics card, I MAY need to get a new case.

EDIT: I think I found what I'm looking for: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16814134147


My Mods:
L0ki194's Sith Officer Armors: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...fficer-armors/
K1 Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
Realistic Nar Shaddaa Skybox Mod Loadscreens: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...d-loadscreens/

Last edited by L0ki194; 01-11-2013 at 11:50 AM.
L0ki194 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > New graphics card help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.