lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Mass Module Reskinning
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-19-2013, 12:03 PM   #1
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Mass Module Reskinning

Guys, one of the more tedious things to do in this game is reskin lots of modules. What I hope to do in this thread is share tips on how to do it more easily.

Something that I've learned is that if you are going to be skinning a lot of modules, set up a master folder for the MDL, MDX, lightmaps, .etc. In these folders, extract the entire set of, for example, models. Then, when you want to reskin a module, simply open that folder, and search for the designation, for example, m26ad. Instead of having to extract each one individually, you will be able to copy all of them for hex-editing.

Also, the Rename Master: http://www.joejoesoft.com/vcms/108/

You can rapidly rename hundreds of files. It will save you hours.

Post any tips you have for shortening the module-reskin process.




Last edited by Sithspecter; 06-19-2013 at 12:16 PM.
Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-19-2013, 12:19 PM   #2
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Double click in kotor tool on the .mdl files for the area to extract all the textures needed for that mdl file. Do that for all of the files to make sure you have all the textures.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-19-2013, 12:26 PM   #3
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
I do the same thing, and I will do a mass extract for all the models in the module. It does make getting the textures easier.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-19-2013, 12:46 PM   #4
Apoc Nizmith
Rookie
 
Apoc Nizmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Defense platform 0-932
Posts: 57
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Tell me you are re-skinning Dantooine it may get that stupid sky bug to go the hell away... *GRUMBLES* "stupid jerky, can't move like walking in tar while I try and kill kath hounds... YOU MUST DIE!!!..." okie feels better now lol


"My apprentice pushed me down a 362 meter shaft directly into the heart of the death star..." Darth Sidious's response as to why he left politics...
Apoc Nizmith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Mass Module Reskinning

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.