lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar
View Poll Results: Are you experiencing disk related problems under Windows 98?
Yes 1 50.00%
No 1 50.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll


Thread: When will Win '98 bug be fixed?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-12-2002, 11:54 PM   #1
ghowell
 
ghowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
When will Win '98 bug be fixed?

When will the Windows '98 bug ever be fixed? Ever? Will Lucas help me get my money back on the purchase? When?

The problem is: following a very straightforward install, you can save once, maybe twice. After successfully completing a scenario, you can't load the next one.

System: Windows '98, Pentium III, 13GB drive, 128 MB ram, 5GB free. DirectX 8.1 is installed. Two cdrom drives. GeForce2MX, Soundblaster 128PCI

I have tried:
uninstalling, reinstalling.
scandisk, defrag.
Moving position of cd drives on the bus.
running/installing from both drives (in both positions)
running/installing from virtual drive (let's you mount iso image)
killed all running tasks except explorer and point32
played with autoexec.bat and c=temp as instructed
applied patch

Is there any guarantee that a reinstall will work? Anybody know how I can keep my favorites from being hosed in a Win '98 reinstall?

Anyone know why this isn't on the FAQ on www.swgalacticbattlegrounds.com? Anyone know why Lucas doesn't warn you of possible problems when you register this game?

Anybody wanna guess how pissed off I am?
ghowell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2002, 12:08 PM   #2
Havoc Stryphe
Senior Member
 
Havoc Stryphe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Penn's Woods
Posts: 1,901
Current Game: Mass Effect
I have yet to encounter any problems but...

I have windows 98 SE, so maybe that's why?


May the road rise up to meet you,
May the wind be ever at your back
May the sun shine warm upon your face
And the rain fall softly on your fields
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the hollow of his hand
Havoc Stryphe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2002, 12:13 PM   #3
Chessack
 
Chessack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 318
Which version of Windows 98 are you using? I also use SE, and have had none of the problems you have. But I also noticed, that in your description of the measuers you have taken, I saw neither of the following. You should try them:

1. Do a Windows Update from the start menu. Update everything having to do with card drivers, video drivers, sound drivers, the OS itself, etc (you can ignore all those stupid language upgrades if you want). Make certain all the drivers you can get from Microsoft, are on your system.

2. Go to the vendor websites for both your graphics and your sound cards. I have the same video card and a new driver came out in December or January (I think) that you will need for it to run properly (though, run at all, it should do... hmmm).

Anyway, those two measures, you really need to take, and you need to tell us what version of win98 you have, before we can narrow down for sure what the problem is.

Don't worry. Stay the course. We'll help you figure out what the problem is and get it working. It'll be worth it -- it's a great game.


Chessack
Mos Espa, Tatooine
Chessack is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2002, 12:34 PM   #4
ghowell
 
ghowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
Okay, I forgot to mention in my original post that I had done both of those things (driver update as well as windows update).

I think it is Win '98 plain, vanilla edition. Under the System Control Panel, the version is listed as 4.10.1998

Oh, and just double-checked: I have 256MB ram, not 128.

I was a bit testy about this last night. See, I like the game. I didn't buy AOE, because as I was waiting for the price to come down, I saw that this would be on same engine. I've played the demo. Played the training missions. Played the first OOM-9 mission (several times), and enjoy it. I refuse to be left playing random maps.

Anyhoo, hope this helps. And again, let me say that Lucas tech supp. claims this is a known problem.
ghowell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2009, 08:55 PM   #5
no1
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: http://www.youtube.com/mandai2
Posts: 116
Lol I remember using Windows 98. Had SWGB working fine on it for quite some time.
no1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > Community > GalacticBattles.com > Information Center > Tech Troubles > When will Win '98 bug be fixed?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.