lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Guide To Sp And Mp Skin Conversion
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-29-2002, 05:31 AM   #121
Phizzle
Banned
 
Phizzle's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rest Home
Posts: 594
Question Yoda

I just got my model in there but is there anyway to make him small??? I read only npcs can be converted in size so I just need to confirm if I can or can't help would be appreciated

Last edited by Phizzle; 07-29-2002 at 07:43 AM.
Phizzle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-29-2002, 01:28 PM   #122
Bell
 
Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 461
make an npcs.cfg to pack with your model and put this line it it.

scale xxx

where xxx is a number from 1 to 100.

you can't make the model itself small unless you want to go through the HUGE task of creating a skeleton and animations for it.
Bell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-29-2002, 09:04 PM   #123
Arkum
 
Arkum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 624
Bell, how do you change it though, when i try to save the file after i change it, it won't let me. PLZ tell me how to do it.
Arkum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2002, 12:45 AM   #124
Darklighter
Bliss Ninny
 
Darklighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Englandland
Posts: 4,507
Current Game: Uncharted 3
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
Or GreenPanther, you can download the Jedimod. Follow the instructions, load the mod in the game and start your own server. All the parameters should be set, so just choose the Yoda skin and he should be small.


"Yeah no one likes a smart ass, but we all like stars,
But that wasn't my intention, I did it for a reason..."
Darklighter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2002, 01:24 AM   #125
Phizzle
Banned
 
Phizzle's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rest Home
Posts: 594
Angry

I was talking about Single Player. oh and thanks Bell
Phizzle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2002, 01:59 AM   #126
Phizzle
Banned
 
Phizzle's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rest Home
Posts: 594
Angry

IT DIDNT WORK I AM SO MADDDDDDD
Phizzle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2002, 10:52 PM   #127
Bell
 
Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 461
lol know how ya feel
k post your npcs.cfg file and lets take a look
Bell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2002, 02:20 AM   #128
Phizzle
Banned
 
Phizzle's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rest Home
Posts: 594
Why dont you post one for me?????

Last edited by Phizzle; 07-31-2002 at 07:49 AM.
Phizzle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2002, 06:22 PM   #129
SPY_jmr1
The Quiet, but Deadly One
 
SPY_jmr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hiding in a corner of a bar.
Posts: 2,076
btw, its still out there if you look hard enough...

hey yall, cool thread, lotsa tips.

I just jumped in to say, if this was one of the forums I mod, it would be sticky in a heartbeat... I will talk to some people and see if we cant fix this oversight...

re: nekked jan; yeah its a really well done, and downright cool skin(I nabbed it when you could.... but that was before I was a mod nobody ask me for it, will be ignored) but it WAS not allowed as the rules say. the mods/admins were not heavy handed, just following the rules.


Spy
SPY_jmr1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2002, 03:20 AM   #130
Bell
 
Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 461
i copied this post

ok i will explain the steps for makeing a new NPC as best i can for you guys who need it. Keep in mind you dont have to have the model's pk3 file in the base folder for the npcs to work.

1) download or find the model you want to use, and open the pk3 file with winzip, find the model files and hold on to them for a sec.

2) go to your base folder [gamedata\base] and find the, ext_data, folder, if you dont see one, then just make one.

3) make a notpad file, and change the ext to .NPC and copy your npc script into that file, then name it, newnpcs.npc.

npc script should look like this. (for this example we are making darth maul)


Rebornmaul
{
playerModel rebornmaul
saberColor red
rank captain
reactions 5
aim 5
move 5
aggression 5
evasion 5
intelligence 5
hfov 160
vfov 160
height 78
crouchheight 42
width 18
playerTeam enemy
enemyTeam player
// race human
class tavion
yawSpeed 300
walkSpeed 55
runSpeed 200
snd maul
sndcombat maul
sndjedi maul
health 500
dismemberProbHead 99
dismemberProbArms 99
dismemberProbLegs 99
dismemberProbHands 99
dismemberProbWaist 99
}
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

As you can see, i beefed him up a bit for more challenge.

4) Ok now that your npc file is made, go to your base\models\players, folder, if you dont have a models folder, simply make one, then make a players folder inside that.

5) Make a new folder named RebornMaul, and drag those model files you had inside that folder.

6) While in the RebornMaul folder find the Model_default.skin (or whatever yours is named, just find the default.skin file). Right click on it, and click open with, then choose notpad. You will see a bunch of lines of script that looks like this.

hips,models/players/Maul/legs.jpg
l_leg,models/players/Maul/legs.jpg
l_leg_cap_hips_off,models/players/Maul/caps.jpg
r_leg,models/players/Maul/legs.jpg
r_leg_cap_hips_off,models/players/Maul/caps.jpg
r_arm,models/players/Maul/body.jpg
r_hand,models/players/Maul/body.jpg

excetra, there will be alot more, but you get the idea. This is the file that tells the game where to look for the skin on your model when its loaded into the game. So what you do is, see how it says on them /players/Maul/blah.jpg just replace the "Maul" with "RebornMaul" that way the game will look inside your Reborn Maul folder for your model and skins when you load your npc..

Thats it, it should work, you may find models that dont work no matter what you do, that usually the fault of the person who made the model not includeing enough files, and shares to many files with other models, but for most of them, it works just fine.
Bell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2002, 07:22 AM   #131
Phizzle
Banned
 
Phizzle's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rest Home
Posts: 594
Red face

I was talking about kyle not a new NPC
Phizzle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2002, 12:14 PM   #132
Bell
 
Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 461
k i just tried it on kyle in single player and it didn't work. i'm assuming you can't, can anyone confirm this?
Bell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2002, 10:23 PM   #133
Phizzle
Banned
 
Phizzle's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rest Home
Posts: 594
me
Phizzle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 06:23 PM   #134
Kit fisto JK
Banned
 
Kit fisto JK's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: turn around
Posts: 1,138
I have a mandelorian in single player
Kit fisto JK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2002, 07:31 AM   #135
Histys-History
 
Histys-History's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hamster Cage
Posts: 117
Post Heheh

Hehehehehee, i put yoda in sp and he kisses jans, well you know what cause, i dont wanna be booted! Heheheh

Histys-History is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2002, 04:22 PM   #136
Darklighter
Bliss Ninny
 
Darklighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Englandland
Posts: 4,507
Current Game: Uncharted 3
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
No, you sure don't lol: glad you finally got it working in SP...

If there are any more questions or quieries you know where to ask


"Yeah no one likes a smart ass, but we all like stars,
But that wasn't my intention, I did it for a reason..."
Darklighter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2002, 04:35 PM   #137
PhantomHelix
Burning Hybrid
 
PhantomHelix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: uhhh.....i forget!
Posts: 1,450
and if you are uninteligent and you cant understand a hint, he is refering to himself, darklighter, the guy who started this thread.....


PhantomHelix is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2002, 12:04 AM   #138
Starwalker
 
Starwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 8
I did my first Kyle replacement 2days after I got JK2 (and I got it the second it came out lol, thats some quick learning )

Anywho does anyone get problems with missing shaders?
Starwalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2002, 02:18 PM   #139
oslpchris
 
oslpchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3
Alright, I've been trying to do this for a while and this is the most intensive instruction I've found yet. I'll probably be trying it out late tonight. I'm wanting to use the Luke- A New Hope skin and so far I've tried other ways of trying to accomplish this but none were this detailed. Hopefully this will work for me. My one question is you guys talk about converting an MP file to an SP file? Is that where your talking about going into the .skin file and changing all of the models\player\luke\torso(or whatever) files into models\player\kyle\torso???? Sorry if this is a stupid questions but I'm new to this (I just got the game a week ago). Thanks for any replies.


chris
www.mp3.com/oslp

"bless this thy holy handgrenade that it may blowest thine enemies to tiny bits... in thy mercy."
oslpchris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2002, 11:50 PM   #140
Phizzle
Banned
 
Phizzle's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rest Home
Posts: 594
Ok I got the Luke A new Hope Skin in the game but I have one problem (since I gave up on yoda) Whenever I do it it always has an untextured spot where the shoulderpad (I THINK) is supposed to be. I can't get it to look right either. I tried getting the code thingy and putting like nodraw in it but it still didnt work..... I need help on this and I have a screenshot Screenshot of Luke (geocities drag it to address bar)
Phizzle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-29-2002, 12:37 PM   #141
oslpchris
 
oslpchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3
It worked the first time... Thanks for the info on editing the skins. Everything seems to be working well. This really made the game alot more fun... I really hated that Kyle guys look. I'm still playing single player games... I'm in the Cairne station somewhere. Reborn are loads of fun. I'm thinking about trying out the Multiplayer stuff soon but I know I'll get my butt kicked all over the place. Anyway, thanks for the great info.

chris


chris
www.mp3.com/oslp

"bless this thy holy handgrenade that it may blowest thine enemies to tiny bits... in thy mercy."
oslpchris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2002, 07:33 PM   #142
Darklighter
Bliss Ninny
 
Darklighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Englandland
Posts: 4,507
Current Game: Uncharted 3
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
It's npGlad I could help...and thanks everyone for adding to this thread...you've helped me out toolol

If anyone still has any questions on converting MP skins and models to work in SP, just give me a shout and I'll do the best I can to answer them...

This thread's been going since early May lol...shame it couldn't have been made a stickyI know a lot of people wanted it to...I did help out a lot of people too, but oh well...

Thanks guys for listening to my incoherant ramblings (lol)...hope I helped you out...any questions just ask

Darky


"Yeah no one likes a smart ass, but we all like stars,
But that wasn't my intention, I did it for a reason..."
Darklighter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2002, 05:38 PM   #143
PhantomHelix
Burning Hybrid
 
PhantomHelix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: uhhh.....i forget!
Posts: 1,450
to the thanks for listenin statement that you said: youre welcome. youve had to listen to all the stupid questions n00bs have asked(such as myself a few months ago). this thread has been very helpful, and because of it, i have become very good at converting models and skins. thanks a bunch dude. you wont go unnoticed.......


PhantomHelix is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2002, 10:04 AM   #144
Darklighter
Bliss Ninny
 
Darklighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Englandland
Posts: 4,507
Current Game: Uncharted 3
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
Cheers m8I appreciate it.

I am going to have a go at converting some of the newest models released. I'll let you all know how it goes.

Also, once I get my website up and running, I'll be putting some of my best converted models and skins online for download, so I'll keep you updated


"Yeah no one likes a smart ass, but we all like stars,
But that wasn't my intention, I did it for a reason..."
Darklighter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2002, 01:26 PM   #145
Darklighter
Bliss Ninny
 
Darklighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Englandland
Posts: 4,507
Current Game: Uncharted 3
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
I am having a little trouble converting one of my models. The one I am going to use is the jeditrainer. Well, firsr of all, I unzipped all of the assets0.pk3 (with all of the levels, models, skins etc.) so they were all separated out into folders. Once I found the jedtrainer folder, I then proceeded to change and alter the file and folder names appropriately, then inserted the pk3 into my base folder. The problem is, it doesn't seem to work at all! I've checked that everything has been done correctly, but the jeditrainer will not show in the pace of Kyle in SP.

Is there a trick to converting in game models to work as SP characters? Can someone please help me


"Yeah no one likes a smart ass, but we all like stars,
But that wasn't my intention, I did it for a reason..."
Darklighter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2002, 01:49 AM   #146
diabolousorod
 
diabolousorod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7
#1 get winrar, then you don't have to zip and unzip #2 get your desired skin for sp (let's say yoda) #3 open your pk.3 using winrar, inside your player folder you"ll see a yoda folder, create a folder alongside the yoda folder, call it whatever character you wish to replace (let's say kyle) #4 now go in to your yoda folder and extract the model.glm and the model_default files to my documents or something #5 open the kyle folder (it should be empty) and add the model.glm to it and the model_default files. now you have two folders within your player folder one named kyle and one named yoda both have model.glm and model_default files[U]. #6 delete the model.glm from the yoda folder not the kyle folder and you should be good to go. this works with any skin or model that i have come across! hope i did some good, any other questions ask.
diabolousorod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-17-2002, 09:47 PM   #147
boris_szczepko
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1
I am having trouble converting the ep2obiwan_model.zip skin to SP mode and was wondering if anyone could please give me a hand, there are 2 skins in the file, one with obi-wan in robe and one without, i'm trying to get it to work for the obi-wan WITHOUT the robe on, i've very new to this so any help would be great

Last edited by boris_szczepko; 12-17-2002 at 09:58 PM.
boris_szczepko is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2002, 03:46 PM   #148
Temple
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
blah

im getting this
head,models/players/kyle/head.jpg
torso,models/players/kyle/torso.jpg
r_arm,models/players/kyle/torso.jpg
l_arm,models/players/kyle/torso.jpg
r_hand,models/players/kyle/hands.jpg
l_hand,models/players/kyle/hands.jpg
l_leg,models/players/kyle/legs.jpg
r_leg,models/players/kyle/legs.jpg
hips,models/players/kyle/hips.jpg

in my model_default file....jpgs instead of tgas.

I did everything and it dont work anyways...
Temple is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2002, 03:14 PM   #149
tarafudge
 
tarafudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 93
NEW SKIN

Dear Skinners,
I have a skinning job for you, its tottaly editable and i dont require it fully in my name. All i ask is that you post it somewhere on it. It doesnt have to be visable o.k. Here's an image:

Reply or e-mail me soon if you want to help~!~!~!
I am new to skinning but from the skin above hands are optional, color should be some type of brown metalic grey, and post my name in a readme, of course you will get most of the credit. Thanx, i am hoping for some replies
tarafudge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2003, 09:46 AM   #150
samm666
 
samm666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Under your stairs
Posts: 52
Right, first of all, this is totally off topic. Also the pic isn't working, even in another window and it still is farcked.

I assume you are asking us to make a skin of that pic for you and you want your name somewhere on the skin? It's not very clear to understand what you saying.

Also you don't have any right to have your name on the skin at all. The guy who would make the skin is the only person who should have credit.

You don't even deserve credit in the readme for just posting a pic!


-=Samm666=-

Being Supposedly considered a BETA TESTER for the MGS:TEA TC. Boy I'm angry.
samm666 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2003, 07:05 PM   #151
tarafudge
 
tarafudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 93
You must be blind...

You got it all wrong, 1)This request is old... And I'm not requesting it to be drawn. 2)I only wanted one line of the text document to have my name that won't have to be viewed. And the person viewing it will only see the make of the skin not me. 3)Stay out of the buisness if you don't want any part of it. -Jeeze


"With every rise, there is a fall."
tarafudge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2003, 11:30 PM   #152
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
question: has anyone been able to get ed peretti's mara jade into the sp game?
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2003, 01:39 PM   #153
samm666
 
samm666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Under your stairs
Posts: 52
I know it was done in that Christmas Ladder SP map by Darth Arth. He said anyone can take anything out of it so go ahead.


-=Samm666=-

Being Supposedly considered a BETA TESTER for the MGS:TEA TC. Boy I'm angry.
samm666 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2003, 02:09 PM   #154
The Truthful Liar
In-Transit
 
The Truthful Liar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Blasting out of trajectory in a suit of terracotta
Posts: 3,548
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Havn't I already stuck this before? Alright, sticky-fied again now. :-)


"Whatever action is performed by a great man, common men follow in his footsteps. And whatever standards he sets by exemplary acts, all the world pursues."
The Truthful Liar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2003, 05:33 PM   #155
Southring
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 19
Robless Obi-Wan?

I'm just as curious as Boris as to a solution to this problem. I've tried a number of things-- none of which even remotely worked --and I'm half-dying to get this thing working in-game. If anyone at all can help, Boris and I'd be much indebted.

It's a dillema, I say! A dilemma!
Southring is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2003, 11:01 PM   #156
AutoCept
 
AutoCept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 233
*Cough* .surf file*cough*


I want a Midi Song(whatever that is.)
Donate Credits to me and I'll be your friend for life!!(Okay maybe not.)
AutoCept is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2003, 10:39 AM   #157
jedi90
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 10
NEW MODELS IN SP

i was just wondering if anyone here has tried to make the ep1obi-wan by toonces into a single player model. if so have you had any trouble getting it to work? i've tried several times with no luck at all. if someone here could take a crack at it i would appreciate it. right now i'm using windows xp with winzip to get the files to work. thanks!
jedi90 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2003, 03:35 PM   #158
samm666
 
samm666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Under your stairs
Posts: 52
I imported the Obi-Wan model into single player but the damned shaders didn't work and I think it was because I was making a new NPC with him.

Ohh and you can't "make" a SP model, they are the same for MP and SP. You can get a model into SP though that was designed for MP.


-=Samm666=-

Being Supposedly considered a BETA TESTER for the MGS:TEA TC. Boy I'm angry.
samm666 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2003, 11:21 PM   #159
Southring
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 19
Ehh...

I tried removing the .surf file from the skin's folder, but to no avail. I'm going to try removing it from the base Ep1_Obi folder or whatever, and see if that works. Maybe it will. Hope it does. If it doesn't, any other ideas?
Southring is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2003, 12:01 AM   #160
AutoCept
 
AutoCept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 233
No no, don't remove it, keep it there.
Make sure it has the same name as the model_default.skin
(Like: model_fencer.skin model_fencer.surf, get it?)


I want a Midi Song(whatever that is.)
Donate Credits to me and I'll be your friend for life!!(Okay maybe not.)
AutoCept is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > Guide To Sp And Mp Skin Conversion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.