lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Crashing out to the desktop
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-13-2000, 03:43 PM   #1
obiwanmckay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb Crashing out to the desktop

Each time I reach the room on level six where the young boy is being held, I crash straight to the desktop. Anyone with any ideas. Obiwanmckay needs a Quigon!!!!!!
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-13-2000, 05:19 PM   #2
Zanzibar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 277
Post

Level six...the boy...hmmm.... I can't remember which is level 6, is it Escape from Theed or Mos Espa?

Also, give me your system specs, plz:

Processor (PII/III, 266mhz etc etc)
RAM
Video Card

You might try updating your video drivers...but let's figure out more details please.
Zanzibar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-14-2000, 05:00 PM   #3
obiwanmckay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Dear Zanzibar,

Thanks for helping a mere apprentice. My spec's are AMD-K6 500 3D processor, 64MB RAM, RAG PRO TURBO AGP.

I hope this helps.

Obiwanmckay.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-14-2000, 05:01 PM   #4
obiwanmckay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Sorry, I forgot to mention the level is Mos Espa.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-14-2000, 08:10 PM   #5
Darth_Simpson
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

Have you installed the patch?
It is not supposed to take care of that problem, but you never know!

Try reinstalling some of your drivers. I know it sounds like bullshiy, but it might just work!

Anyway the bug sounds like a problem with your computer, as i have not encountered ONE bug with TPM. Good work Zanzibar!!!
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-14-2000, 09:24 PM   #6
Zanzibar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 277
Post

Wow...I can't think of what it might be; your computer is plenty fast enough to run TPM. I'm not a programmer, and I've never heard of this bug before, but I'll throw out a few suggestions.

One thought...what version of DirectX are you running - 6 or 7? If you're running 7, you might want to download the patch. The patch will NOT help gameplay; it fixes a hardware configuration in the game launcher for DX7.

Also, what resolution are you running the game in? If it's anything above 640x480, I suggest you switch to 640x480 mode until the end of the level; this is just a shot in the dark - I doubt if it will help.

Does it happen when a certain event happens? Or is it when you see someone onscreen for the first time?
Zanzibar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2000, 01:47 PM   #7
obiwanmckay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

The patch doesn't help and I don't seem to be able to change to the 480x640 resolution. Hmmmm!

I'll keep on trying my Lord but any other suggestions you can make will be very welcome.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2000, 04:46 PM   #8
obiwanmckay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I figured out the change to the resolution now; what a simplistic padwan I am! Still crash out though and not always at the sample place now.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2000, 05:53 PM   #9
Master Qui-Gon
 
Master Qui-Gon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 578
Angry

Sounds like it has something to do with your 3D accelerator. I'm not sure what to tell you, my young apprentice, as Windows is a product of Emperor Palpatine himself, but if you need to get past a certain spot, send me your savegame and I'll give it a miss.
Master Qui-Gon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2000, 07:05 PM   #10
Zanzibar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 277
Post

I agree with Master Qui-Gon...it does sound like a 3d accelerator problem. We've been having weird troubles with ATI cards from time to time, but you would have found the problems READILY apparent on the Otoh Gunga level.

Try new drivers for your video card perhaps, and then try reinstalling DirectX...ack.
Zanzibar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Classic Gaming > 2. Star Wars Gaming > Episode I: The Phantom Menace > Crashing out to the desktop

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.