lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Level Editor
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-04-2001, 04:44 PM   #1
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post Level Editor

I don't know if this has been posted before but I'm new so please forgive me. I'm just wondering if there is a level editor for the game TPM available somewhere. I just the game and create my own Star Wars level would be incredible. I think there is a programmer from Big Ape so maybe you could answer me. Thank you

  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2001, 05:25 PM   #2
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

To my knowledge, there is no editor available to the public. But if you wanna make your own levels, might I suggest you get Jedi Knight?

------------------
I live here ya know.

[This message has been edited by Boba Rhett (edited March 04, 2001).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2001, 06:09 PM   #3
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I already have Jedi Knight. I also have Spork. But I'm getting tired of the graphics. It's good but I've played so much now. Maybe if you could put the textures from TPM in JK.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2001, 11:54 PM   #4
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Haven't you heard about The discovery of 16 bit mats in Jedi Knight?

------------------
I live here ya know.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2001, 02:00 AM   #5
Redwing
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I never heard of that but it would be INCREDIBLY COOL! Uhhh...Zanzibar? Is it possible?

------------------
At last we will reveal ourselves to the Jedi.
At last we will have revenge.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2001, 02:27 PM   #6
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

The discovery of the 16 bits mats? Is it real or you are laughing at us? I just want something that makes TPM longer.

If I could only make my own TPM levels...
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2001, 02:37 PM   #7
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Take a chill pill guys. I said Jedi Knight and besides, TPM already uses 16 bit *mats doesn't it?


*or whatever the heck they are.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2001, 03:57 PM   #8
Darth_Simpson
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

No, there is no level editor or other mods for TPM. Zanzibar has a few new skins ( Mace Windu ), but he can't release them because...well...LEC doesn't allow him to. Shame on LEC!
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2001, 04:15 PM   #9
Zanzibar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 277
Thumbs down

God, don't I wish...

In truth, the tool that we built TPM with is still lurking around here - we even made Simpsons Wrestling with basically the same tool with a few tweaks. However, LEC and Big Ape jointly own the tool, so we can't release it to the public.

Even if we DID release it, it is INSANELY complicated. There seriously isn't even a manual for it. There are many many MANY little things that were basically hacked in, and I don't think there's any one person here that knows everything about the tool.

Short answer? Sorry, but no, the level editor for TPM won't happen.
Zanzibar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2001, 09:34 PM   #10
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

You can't even give us some skins? Or at least tell us what to do to play as Darth Maul or some other character from the game? (If it's possible, of course)

  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2001, 10:43 PM   #11
Garindan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I'd like to be able to play as the Coruscant Mercenary guy!!! he's awesome!!!! c'mon zanzibar, we won't tell lec about it!!!!!!
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2001, 10:45 PM   #12
Zanzibar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 277
Post

LEC has the exclusive rights to any Star Wars critters that are distributed, and because of that, Big Ape can't distribute any models/levels directly; they would have to go thru Lucasarts. Their QA dept has to approve anything that is released thru LEC, and that adds up to quite a bit of time and effort that LEC doesn't want to spend.

The only 'completed' skin I have is of Mace Windu, and quite simply, he doesn't even look that good. I built him in an afternoon after TPM PC went gold, for our hacked-together multiplayer version.
Zanzibar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2001, 11:52 PM   #13
Garindan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

oh man!!! multiplayer?!?!?! hmm...maybe after episode gets released on video, lec will allow the stuff to be released.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2001, 12:14 AM   #14
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

WHAT!? You mean that you guys at Big Ape are playing TPM in multiplayer? That's not fair! I wanna play!!!!!!(crying)

  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2001, 02:07 PM   #15
Jedi SuperBuen
 
Jedi SuperBuen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chatham, Canada
Posts: 726
Post

HOLY BANTHA POODOO MULTIPLAYER?!?!

Zanzibar, you've just awaken something in all TPM now!!!

It would be so kewl to have an editor for TPM. And multiplayer... That would be kewl!

Or being Darth Maul...

*sighs, sits beside Bakudo and cries also*

------------------
You can do it your own way
Just as long as it's done just how I say...
Jedi SuperBuen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2001, 02:38 PM   #16
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I have an idea. Just tell us what tools (software) we need to make a level editor and a multiplayer mod for TPM.

*hopes that Zanzibar invites us at Big Ape to play a little multiplayer game of TPM*
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2001, 03:58 PM   #17
Zanzibar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 277
Post

GAH! I knew I shoulda kept my mouth shut about that one...

The multiplayer version was a hack; we did it at a time when we were hoping that LEC would use the same engine for a sequel game featuring Obi-Wan. But, TPM's sales weren't as good as they had hoped (not a BAD seller, mind you, but basically ALL of the Ep1 licenses across the board, meaning toys, fast food sales etc. were substantially below expectations), and personally I think that Big Ape got most of the blame for it.
But I digress...

Anyways, we started slapping together a multiplayer version just to play around with. Some of our team was down at LEC working on the PSX version, and the rest of us had little to do, so our programming guys took a crack at it. It was buggy, it crashed often, the lightsabers didn't work for reflecting shots etc, but it was fun. The "naughty naughty" view cheat was MANDATORY. One of our level guys did a demo level with lots of nooks and crannies. I'll see if I can dig up an old screenshot of the level.

One of the most fun things was there was this pit in one corner that you could jump into if things got hairy - there was water down below. I got a hold of the only Thermal Detonator in the level, and just then, saw our programmer Denzil jump into the pit...you can guess what I tossed in there after him. He was not amused

As for what tools you'd need for level building, it's solely built by the Big Ape/LEC tool, which goes by the name of Obi or Zanzibar, depending on who you ask
Zanzibar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2001, 04:20 AM   #18
Redwing
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

For the lack of other solutions...ZANZIBAR GO YELL AT BIG APE AND LEC AND TELL THEM TO GIVE US THE EDITOR THINGY NOW!!

------------------
At last we will reveal ourselves to the Jedi.
At last we will have revenge.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2001, 03:14 PM   #19
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

What Redwing said. Just give us the demo. Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaasssssse.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2001, 03:53 PM   #20
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Jeeez, give it up guys. He CAN'T do it and even if he did there would only be like 12 people in the world who knew how to use it the thing. Are you guys even reading his posts?

------------------
I live here ya know.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2001, 04:40 PM   #21
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

We do know he can't. It's just that we want it so much. I always wanna play!
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2001, 11:18 PM   #22
Jedi SuperBuen
 
Jedi SuperBuen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chatham, Canada
Posts: 726
Post

Yeah Rhett I understand he can't, I just like whinning... sue me

------------------
You can do it your own way
Just as long as it's done just how I say...
Jedi SuperBuen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 01:07 AM   #23
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

*calls lawyer*

------------------
I live here ya know.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 02:03 PM   #24
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

*calls...my mother*
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 02:52 PM   #25
Jedi SuperBuen
 
Jedi SuperBuen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chatham, Canada
Posts: 726
Post

*calls pizza place*... What? I'm hungry!

------------------
Ash to ash,
Dust to dust,
Fade to black,
But the memory remains...
Jedi SuperBuen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 06:01 PM   #26
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

LOL! Superbuen! Ah,it would be so cool to have the editor. The only level editors I have now are the Tomb Raider editor and the Worldcraft editor (Half-Life). But I want to make a Star Wars level!

P.S. I have Jedi Knight but I don't feel like making levels for it, I'm getting tired of it. I've played so much.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 07:15 PM   #27
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
WorldCraft, ay? I just got Half life a few days ago, do you know were I could find some very newbie friendly tutorials on using it? BTW, I think you should at least try making jk levels out and see if you like it.

------------------
I live here ya know.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 07:24 PM   #28
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

The level editor for Half-Life is included with the game. I think it's in the directory in which you've installed it. Or on the CD. And there is a tutorial included with it.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 10:37 PM   #29
Jedi SuperBuen
 
Jedi SuperBuen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chatham, Canada
Posts: 726
Post

I found JED waayyyyyy too complicated for me... I tried making a level, but well it was too complicated and sooooo long... I just want a simple editor where bing bang I have a level...

------------------
Ash to ash,
Dust to dust,
Fade to black,
But the memory remains...
Jedi SuperBuen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 10:42 PM   #30
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Would you like me to show you how to use it?

------------------
I live here ya know.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 10:45 PM   #31
Jedi SuperBuen
 
Jedi SuperBuen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chatham, Canada
Posts: 726
Post

Well I'm at work now...

I found the tutorials just too long... I want to make a kewl simple level where I can shoot some stuff ya know... I dunno...

Sure help me Rhett

------------------
Ash to ash,
Dust to dust,
Fade to black,
But the memory remains...
Jedi SuperBuen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 11:16 PM   #32
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Most newbies have problems saving so that's what i'm going to tell you how to do.First i'll tell you the buttons you need to know how to use. "The FOOL proof way.

NOTE: MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A NEW FOLDER TO SAVE YOU THINGS TO. Might as well name it "my level"

1. Start up jed. There should be a box on the screen. That is you room.

2. If you press F12 it will give you a 3d preview of the room. You can move around in it with the arrows and page up/down.

3. When your in the 3d preview you can "mat" the walls by double clicking them.

4. Go ahead and color the walls now.

5. Now go to file>save and save the level into the folder you made.

6. then go to Tools>Episode editor. In there give the level an Episode name a level name and some text when the level loads.

7. NEXT IS VERY IMPORTANT, while still in the episode editor hit UPDATE then SAVE.

8. Then go to file and hit the save button in there just to be safe.

9. Then in hit File>Save JKL.

10. When the jkl is done saving, hit, File>gob project.

11. It will promt you to then save the level. Save it to Your Episode folder in your Jedi Knight folder.

12. Fire up Jedi Knight and go to single player levels and select your level and play it.

*MORE TUTORIALS TO COME*

P.S. Force long post.

------------------
I live here ya know.

[This message has been edited by Boba Rhett (edited March 09, 2001).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 11:19 PM   #33
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

Questions, comments?

------------------
I live here ya know.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2001, 12:14 AM   #34
Bakudo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Thanks M. Teacher. Will there be an exam this week?
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2001, 04:07 AM   #35
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

YES. Our next lesson will be on commonly used commands in JED. It's a MUST read. I think I will move this over to the JediKnight Board though.

------------------
I live here ya know.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2001, 02:26 PM   #36
Jedi SuperBuen
 
Jedi SuperBuen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chatham, Canada
Posts: 726
Post

Dude this is great, I'm doing it right now!

Can't wait for Lesson II

------------------
Ash to ash,
Dust to dust,
Fade to black,
But the memory remains...
Jedi SuperBuen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2001, 02:43 PM   #37
Jedi SuperBuen
 
Jedi SuperBuen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chatham, Canada
Posts: 726
Post

Kewl I just made my first box... I mean level lol

Can't wait for more now!

------------------
Ash to ash,
Dust to dust,
Fade to black,
But the memory remains...
Jedi SuperBuen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2001, 03:48 PM   #38
Garindan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

rhett, i suggest that you show him how to use the Goal! plugin, that way he can make objectives, like when you kill a boss/enemy you can make the person say something, and if you kill the 'boss' or primary enemy, you'll beat the game. oops, i just leaked out some more info.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2001, 04:22 PM   #39
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

We'll do that in about lesson 3 or 4.
The Next lesson will be on the commands used to edit. Like the ones you'll need to expand your level and make it not as boxy as well as some commands to make editing easier. The tutorial after that will probably be on using cogs in your level, i'm not sure yet. Maybe I should also make a tutorial on using custom things in your level and how to make those things. And maybe a tutorial on how mods are made.
------------------
I live here ya know.

[This message has been edited by Boba Rhett (edited March 09, 2001).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2001, 03:16 PM   #40
Jedi SuperBuen
 
Jedi SuperBuen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chatham, Canada
Posts: 726
Post

Well hurry up and do it then dude

I wanna know how to make more rooms! I wanna know how to put some enemies, I wanna know, I wanna I wanna I wanna aaaaaaarrrrrrrrgggggggghhhhhhhhh...

Ok I'm done

I can't wait... I think I've been bit by the Editing bug!!!

------------------
Ash to ash,
Dust to dust,
Fade to black,
But the memory remains...
Jedi SuperBuen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Classic Gaming > 2. Star Wars Gaming > Episode I: The Phantom Menace > Level Editor

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:23 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.