lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Transparency?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-07-2001, 06:17 AM   #1
Redwing
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question Transparency?

I just looked at some old topics, went to Master Qui-Gon's website, and---the water & bubbles at Otoh Gunga were TRANSPARENT! They are opaque in the game I have! What's going on?

------------------
At last we will reveal ourselves to the Jedi.
At last we will have revenge.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2001, 02:55 PM   #2
Jedi SuperBuen
 
Jedi SuperBuen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chatham, Canada
Posts: 726
Post

Maybe it's the video card or the level of graphic you have set at. The water in the game when I play is transparent...

------------------
You can do it your own way
Just as long as it's done just how I say...
Jedi SuperBuen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2001, 03:39 PM   #3
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Smile

If you look in the performance settings, i'm pretty sure they have a transparency option.

------------------
I live here ya know.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2001, 07:48 PM   #4
Zanzibar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 277
Post

AHA - I think you have a video card that we had troubles with. From the TPM Launcher, go to Hardware Configuration, and select Use Additive Blending.

I've seen video cards that this gives a REALLY COOL glowing effect to the bubbles, making it look even more like the movie than the rest of the video cards do.
Zanzibar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 05:37 AM   #5
Redwing
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Angry

I read the README and you're right, I have aproblem driver. But when I click on Video or Joystick options, it tells me I need DirectX 6.1 or higher. I tell it to install. But it says I already HAVE above DirectX 6.1 (which I do: DirectX 8.0) and installation is unnecessary. But options STILL don't work!

------------------
At last we will reveal ourselves to the Jedi.
At last we will have revenge.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 03:46 PM   #6
Zanzibar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 277
Post

AHA - it might be a problem that LEC released a patch for in its launcher that had a DirectX 7 crash bug... not sure if you've tried it already.

Look for the TPM update at: http://support.lucasarts.com/
Zanzibar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2001, 10:47 PM   #7
Jedi SuperBuen
 
Jedi SuperBuen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chatham, Canada
Posts: 726
Post

Every time you wrote AHA I think those tones that play on the tv show Law & Order... it's like a paaam paaam... It's quite funny actually!

------------------
Ash to ash,
Dust to dust,
Fade to black,
But the memory remains...
Jedi SuperBuen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2001, 02:14 AM   #8
Redwing
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
An update!? (Hitting myself)

------------------
At last we will reveal ourselves to the Jedi.
At last we will have revenge.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2001, 03:10 AM   #9
Redwing
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
AWESOME! It worked and it looks great! Thankyouthankyouthankyou!

------------------
At last we will reveal ourselves to the Jedi.
At last we will have revenge.
  you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Classic Gaming > 2. Star Wars Gaming > Episode I: The Phantom Menace > Transparency?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:32 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.